In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, a few nations have observed a spike in the percentage of the population that is affected by health issues due to the consumption of excessive junk food. This leads us to the question should governing body of nations collect additional taxes on fast food. In my opinion, extra revenue should be collected as well as some initiatives should be taken to make healthy meals easily accessible. Firstly, the expenditure of the government on the health sector is increasing due to the rise in the count of people suffering from issues such as obesity, cholesterol, diabetes etc. which are all caused due to unhealthy food habits. Moreover, such issues can easily be avoided by following a proper diet and exercising. For example, the young generation is extremely busy and does not have time to cook meals at home as a result of which, they end up buying fast food as it is quick and abundantly available. Furthermore, the number of doctors and hospitals is limited compared to the rising number of patients which results in delayed appointments. Secondly, any nation would need a disease-free population for its development and growth. Every single citizen is the driving force in its progress. Besides, a healthy population would result in saving expenditure on the health sector and that same money can be invested in other sectors leading to economic growth. For instance, the additional tax received can be used to subsidise fruits and vegetables. This would be a win-win situation for everyone. To conclude, measures must be taken to bring down the number of folks facing illness as a result of fast food. However, some measures must also be taken to promote healthy eating habits.