Many people nowadays fo not feel safe either when they are at home or go out. What are the reasons and what can be done to solve this problem?

It is important to consider why people, these days, do not feel secure inside their own houses or when they are out. This essay will highlight two reasons for this and will suggest two ways to mitigate this detrimental problem. Considering firstly the reasons behind this form of insecurity, these can be owing to the rising crime rates and increased reports of terrorist attacks affecting public spaces. An increased cost of life is irrevocably tied to a higher amount of burglars and small thieves. For instance, when an individual is facing pecuniary difficulties to meet their basic daily needs such as putting food on the table, they tend to commit small domestic assaults in order to steal food or appliances to make some money. Similarly, the constant news about terrorist attacks on schools or train stations, for example, is impacting people´s lives, increasing the feeling of fear, and, thereby, their anxiety levels and stress. These attacks are becoming higher in number due to the more accentuated religious and background differences between populations. Nevertheless, these issues could be reduced with some measures in place. Firstly, is the government´s responsibility to narrow the gulf between poor and rich people, giving the former more social benefits and job opportunities, for instance, which would increase their living conditions, reducing this way the number of criminal offences by burglary. Secondly, the government should ensure the population´s security by sending more policemen to the streets to control social disagreements and fights. Citizens also play a very important role by understanding and accepting different backgrounds in order to develop empathy and live with them. In conclusion, safety plays a crucial role in people´s lives and its lack can be impactful on our welfare. An increased cost of living and terrorist attacks are the major reasons for this type of insecurity, although they can be surmountable with the aforementioned measures by increasing people´s social help and reinforcing the police body in the streets.