Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines, and on billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy goods that they do not really need. What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism.

Companies invest enormous amounts of money in digital or offline marketing of goods they sell or services they offer every year which eventually leads to over-consumerism by society. This essay will discuss the good and bad effects caused by this phenomenon. On one hand, businesses that promote their product through online and offline platforms, will eventually have higher profits from the boost of sales. This will promote the economy of the country through the growth of the number of money received by the means of taxation. Later, the collected money can be used for improving the government institutions such as health, education, transport or public safety. Additionally, financially successful companies can donate or reinvest their profits into third-world countries so that the economic situation and the lifestyle there can be drastically lifted. On the other hand, it is well known that the high rate of manufacturing of items for further sale, creates environmental pollution the consequence of which is the existential threat caused by global warming on a worldwide scale as well as the reduction of mental and physical health on the individual level. In the first case, changes in the atmosphere cause unpredictable weather that might be detrimental to the harvest, the lack of which might lead to starvation. In the second case, the examples include the raise of cases of depression and people easily catching or developing various diseases. In conclusion, a yearly growth of consumerism that is induced by promoting very costly advertisements has both positive and negative implications such as worldwide economic growth followed by an increase in the quality of life on one side and environmental pollution combined with a decrease in individual health on the other side.