Many people use written language in a less formal way and in a relaxed way than in the past. Why is that so? Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

In modern society, people tend to communicate with others by using written language in a less formal and decompressed way than in the past. There are a variety of different causes for this matter. And it is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several reasons to be taken into consideration. To begin with, the increasingly hectic pace of life forces people to live with the fastest speed and mindset. It means that people have to integrate with many things and adapt to the environment. Therefore, individuals need to find the shortest way to deal with daily matters. For instance, when texting with others such as colleagues or friends, short words or informal sentences are preferred use. As reported in Times in 2020, 80% of Vietnamese people have the habit of using shorter letters to boost their velocity in order to save time. There are plenty of benefits of the informally written style to be concerned. One obvious advantage is that it shows a broader vision of humankind. This is because the rapid advancement of the world makes us have the intention to accept new trends. In fact, texting in a relaxed way helps to bridge the gap between people. Moreover, the growth of this phenomenon is advantageous because of its convenience and flexibility. A short-hand version of messenger such as “idk, how r u,…” takes less time to type the whole sentences. In conclusion, the trend of writing less formal language is a result of a lot of factors. However, it seems to me that the potential benefits are more worthwhile than the possible dangers. Individuals should use words wisely to avoid misunderstandings or problems caused by this tendency.