33-Some people think that it is fine for professional sportsmen and sportswomen to misbehave on or off the field, as long as they are playing well. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Those who put the performance of sports personnel above everything feel that it is reasonable for professionals to misbehave if they are playing well. In this essay, I will elucidate that I completely disagree with this assertion. It is a well-known fact that celebrities can and do influence the behaviour of their followers. Youngsters consider them as their role models and try to imitate them. Since professional players have such an impact on their fans, they should behave correctly on and off the field. For instance, when one of the famous basketball players was caught using drugs, suddenly there was an increase in the number of drug abuse cases among youngsters. Moreover, the misconduct of players can also have an adverse impact on the popularity of sports itself. Nowadays, many brands sponsor popular sporting events and sports personnel in order to increase their brand awareness among the masses. As these players represent a particular brand, bad behaviour can lead to negative publicity for the sponsorers. Because of this, there can be revocations of event sponsorships thus impacting the entire event. To exemplify, there were many allegations of cricket match-fixing during the 2010 Indian premier league session. As a result of this, viewership of the sporting event drastically went down and many sponsors pulled back their sponsorship leading to the failure of the event. To conclude, even if a player is performing well on the field, this does not give them the right to behave in inappropriate ways. Because these individuals are looked up to by many, they must keep their behaviour under check.