In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

The great nations are the cultural nations because cultures are undoubtedly able to shape diverse characters by sharing traditions and values from generation to generation. To always connect with what the ancestors have educated over the past time, traditional dress and costumes can be instruments of cultural heritage to recognize the identity of a nation. This approach has also been practised by countries around the world. Several people believe that using traditional dress in specific events is the best way to introduce a nation’s characteristics. It is very noticeable to identify people from what they usually wear like clothes, shoes, or hats. For instance, around the 17th century, Javanese people covered their bodies with a piece of cloth named Batik Lurik, their feet with Bakiak made of wood, and their heads with Blangkon which also represented their status. Furthermore, modern fashion styles support traditional dress as more fashionable, so it is possible to attract the young generation. Through a touch of modern art, traditional clothes are more interesting without losing their substance. For example, Batik from Indonesia is internationally well admired by tourists due to up to date with the development of fashions. However, that method is not the only way to preserve traditional heritages in past times. Movie production would like to be another approach for remembering what has done in the past life. Films which take historical stories in traditional settings will not only introduce attributes but teach also abstract ones like values, and principles. it was successfully done by Korea with their Korean drama and K Pop which well admitted around the world. To conclude, traditional dress and costumes are very effective to connect in past events because of their clear attributes and fashionable ones. Moreover, movie production should be considered as another way to connect with past time which was proven by some countries.