Nowadays,young people are admiring media and sports stars, even though they do not set a good example. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Adolescents have a great amount of admiration towards Public figures. Although, some people believe that public figures do not set the right example for teenagers and many believe otherwise. In my view, there are positive as well as negative aspects. There are various positive aspects of public figures being role models for today's youth, they could inspire teenagers physically and mentally. To begin with, most actors and sports stars are extremely healthy and fit. This could influence adolescents, and they could start working towards attaining a healthy lifestyle. Secondly, we have also seen the dedication and the hard work put into their day to day lives of these celebrities. These personal traits could also alter the minds of adolescents positively. For example, Sachin Tendulkar with his dedication and hard work has inspired a number of adolescents to acquire the same amount of dedication and hard work, Virat Kolhi as a teenager was inspired by Sachin Tendulkar, and she can see he reached towards being a successful player. Hence, it can be concluded that celebrities can influence the youth to a great extent, in most cases positively. However, there are also some downsides to this. Not all the media and sports personnel are responsible for their acts in public. Most of these stars are always in the news, so certain behaviours such as smoking in public, and drinking excessive alcohol could lead to setting a bad example for the youth. Hence, if celebrities do not take responsibility for their actions in public, it could lead to detrimental effects. To conclude, role,models play a more positive role in inspiring and motivating adolescents. However, celebrities should take full responsibility for their actions to avoid any detrimental effects.