Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the younger generation chooses to spend their leisure in gadgets, playing video games and chatting, instead of going outside and socializing in the real world. In my opinion, this trend can lead to major issues in youth development and change their life for worth. In this essay I will try to explain the cause of this problem and its impact. There are many reasons for children to choose technology as the main time passing. First of all, computers and smartphones are versatile and provide an unlimited amount of activities to choose from. In addition, they are compact multi-tools, containing hundreds of different applications, such as games or calculators, in small boxes. Supposing that we have to choose between using a number of items or just one, which is also the size of a hand, perhaps, most of us will give preference to the latter. Therefore, smartphones are a way more convenient device to use for children, as well as adults. It is undeniable that technologies are essential to our daily life. However, it is also true that they are the source of our troubles as well, the prime of which are health issues. The most common are computer eye strain and fatigue, which can also lead to vision loss and headache. Indeed, it can be observed that many children today complain about constant tiredness and dry eyes. The studies show that in the future more people will have to wear glasses than it is today, and even more people will have fatigue-related issues. To sum up, the younger generation favour using phones, as they are handy and practical. However, the prolonged use of devices leads to unwanted health conditions and exhaustion of our bodies.