Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Other believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, it is argued by some that environmental preservation is the government's responsibility while others believe that every citizen should be responsible. Although there are some reasons why the government should save the environment from harm, I personally believe that individuals should also share this responsibility. On the one hand, there are certain reasons why the authorities have the responsibility to protect the environment. To begin with, the government plays a crucial role in looking after the atmosphere. This is mainly because the largest amount of pollution is usually made by huge factories and enterprises, and only the government has the power or ability to obstruct or restrict them. In addition, the government has influence in order to publish laws which prohibit local people from littering and factories from releasing excessive amounts of industrial waste. As a result, the environment would be saved since the amount of pollution would be reduced. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that every individual has to take action to save the environment. First of all, one’s daily routine has a significant impact on the environment. For instance, the transportation people use every day such as cars or motorbikes releases a large amount of CO2 into the air. Therefore, they can shift toward using public transport to reduce the amount of pollution. Second, the issue of contaminated environment in big cities can also be tackled by volunteers. To illustrate this point, a group of volunteers in Ho Chi Minh City has spent their time clearing all trash in rivers in every district. This kind of activity also attracts the participation of foreign people. In conclusion, while the government has an important responsibility to protect the environment by issuing laws, I believe that every individual can easily save their surroundings by changing their small daily activities and taking part in volunteer work.