The development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some think that this will lead to english becoming only spoken language globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

There is no denying the fact that the main impact of having one spoken language is arguable. While it is a commonly held belief that with the increase in travelling, English has become very popular. In this essay, I shall discuss both merits and demerits of using one language worldwide. There are people who argue that the benefits of having one spoken language considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the use of language may ease the community's life. For instance, people who work in trading may find it more convenient for them to use one common language to communicate with the population in another country. Moreover, tourists will not face any difficulty in communication when they travel abroad such as losing their way to the hotel. Thus, this makes it clear that using one popular language might be more beneficial for society. On the other hand, there are also several disadvantages of having one spoken language. To begin, the population may lose their mother language. For example, a prestigious journal article published that 50% of Saudi Arabian juveniles who speak English reported that they do not know how to speak Arabic. To illustrate, the public may tend to forget their own country's language as they will stop practicing it. Consequently, the language will be lost. In conclusion, the use of one spoken language may have many advantages for society's life such as getting easier communication when people travel to other places. However, it still has some negative impacts on the community as it causes language to be lost.