"Prevention is better than cure". Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree.

People's life is often threatened by various diseases that they have not experienced before. While some people believe that preventive measures play a more important role in saving their life than medical research and treatment, others are resistant to this view. I generally agree with the former idea for the following reasons. On one hand, there are more advantages to taking preventive measures to lower the risks of infections among the public. For example, careful surveillance of the health conditions of foreign travellers who often transport new diseases to other nations unintentionally. Thus, such acts to prevent unknown diseases are effective in suppressing their prevalence in the early stage. Furthermore, this needs only fewer needs of materials and human resources to ensure the safety of citizens than research and cure which often require great allocation of public funds. On the other hand, in spite of preventive acts playing an essential role in reducing the risks of pandemics, medical study and treatment maintain their importance for emergencies. Indeed, a government needs to prepare for the worst scenario in advance. In fact, a large amount of money has been distributed to promote medical research in the case of Covid19. As a result, continuous efforts have been made by medical companies to produce effective vaccines successfully in a short period of time, which results in saving a huge number of people. This allows a government to protect the public wellbeings and minimize the subsequent damage to the national economy as well. In conclusion, preventive measures to avoid the risks of infections seem more efficient. However, medical research for cure and treatment should be equally promoted to overcome some urgent situations.