Some people believe that social networking sites have a huge impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, social media is relatively popular among teenagers, adults, and even some elderly people are widely using. In contrast, it is commonly believed that there are substantial consequences for both individuals and society. I agree entirely with this opinion as it is likely to lead us to an unhealthy lifestyle, and sometimes it causes conflicts unnecessarily. Although social media helps us to communicate with each other in daily life, it has several consequences if we are addicted to it. Perhaps the most significant of these is that social media addiction leads us to a sedentary lifestyle which is the primary reason why many people suffer from obesity nowadays. For instance, a recent study from Spring University found that 75% of social networking sites aim to seduce individuals to spend more time on their websites by showing particular preferences. This is the fact that social media bring us an unhealthy lifestyle for the sake of their profit. Additionally, social media can sometimes cause particular conflicts which are not necessary. As everyone can post their opinions without limitations on social networking sites, some toxic people are willing to spread hate speeches which can cause ridiculous conflicts throughout society. This is illustrated by the fact that when a man posted a comparison between two Korean actors in purpose in October 2018, it ended up fighting two groups of people who were likely to support their idols in front of a supermarket in the central area of Yangon. The impact of social media is that much and even much more sometimes. To sum up, although social is helpful in a particular way, it is always stalking us to waste our time in a sedentary lifestyle and sometimes can bring ridiculous conflicts throughout society.