Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think of music as only for recreational purposes, while others perceive it to contain substantial contributions to various aspects of life. In my opinion, this art form held more significant value to our society than just amusement. It is comprehensible that some claim music serves only entertainment, as that is what they use music for. A part of the audience plays songs in their spare time in order to up their mood and relax, without any further implications. Therefore, they may only see the core value of music as relaxation. In addition, others may argue that the music's nature is amusing because it has been created and used in festivals and parties throughout human history, which does not have any remarkable effect apart from celebrating. On the other hand, melodies and songs may contain numerous other effects, including cultural, political and economic. In detail, by producing musical artwork, people can preserve intangible cultural heritage, such as classical music. Furthermore, take communist songs in the Vietnam War to encourage young men to enlist in the military as an example of how parties might use songs to serve political aims. Another aspect to mention is how profitable the music industry is, for instance, "The Eras Tour" by Taylor Swift grossed $1 billion in 2023. Not only do politicians, economists, and music producers receive advantages from music, but those listeners also share benefits due to the inspirational stories and influences that music provides. Although musical pieces are not always beneficial because some can use them for dark purposes, one thing that can be ascertained is how they widely affect music listeners' perceptions and behaviour. Overall, there are some typical reasons why people believe that these art pieces only contain recreational content. However, I share reservations with people who find music as an influential factor in nowadays society.