Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face? Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, our society has a wide list of opportunities to talk online with others while sitting at home. However, some people argue that a face to face conversation could not be substitued by a phone call or a video chat. I think that different types of internet communication is very beneficial, but it is crucial not to forget about socialising in real life. On the one hand, as I mentioned before, all these opportunities to have a conversation with people all around the world bring us a lot of positive things. For instance, nowadays we can share important information, knowledge, news from one country to another for a few seconds. This leads to improvements in scientific international work and more sustainable economic development. On the other hand, such innovations in online communication could be very harmful for our ability to talk face to face. I maintain that even video chats could not create the same atmosphere which we have while talking in real life. As an example, personally, I’ve always loved to have a conversation with my friends, however, very often I am bored of speaking with them online. I do not really know the reason, however, I do see the difference. To conclude, I consider that online communication brings us a lot of positive things. However, when people start socialising online rather face to face, I am sure that it could be very harmful for their relationship with other people. So, I think that all this situation is a positive development, but as every rul with its own exceptions.