It is often said “when is Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

There are several nations with different communities that follow different sets of principles. These sets of rules have to be respected by a visitor because they have been followed by natives for ages and should be followed by guests until they are comfortable with them. However, learning the local language may or may not be necessary as a visitor, but it can definitely save time in adapting to the new culture. As an outsider, to establish good neighbourly relationships and feel welcome in the new place, it is important to demonstrate an effort to become part of the community. Knowing and adapting to the customs of the new place is important because it helps in socialization with the residents, moreover, it makes us move comfortably with them. For instance, Gifting red and yellow flowers symbolizes love and friendship in most parts of the globe but these are not acceptable in Russia, because they mean a breakup and survival of war veterans respectively. Therefore adapting to the customs of the new country increases our chances of survival. Similarly, Human language can be considered a culture ’s most important feature since complex human culture and language could not exist without each other. They are inseparable because language encodes culture and provides the means through which culture is shared and passed from one generation to the next. For example, Humans think in language and do all cultural activities using language. Thus learning a language definitely helps in gaining knowledge of the culture. To conclude, in order to prevent culture shock we should definitely adapt to the new customs and traditions in the place we move in and language will definitely determine to what extent an individual can survive in this new environment.