SOME BELIEVE THAT UNPAID COMMUNITY SERVICE SHOULD BE A COMPULSORY PART OF HIGH SCHOOL PROGRAMMER (FOR EXAMPLE WORKING FOR A CHARITY, IMPROVING THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND TEACHING SPORTS TO YOUNGER CHILDREN). TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

The question of whether community service should be a component of curriculum in secondary education is a topic of controversy in the realm of academia. Some contend that taking part in community service can instil kindness and politeness in children, others advocate that schools should focus only on academic subjects. However, I acknowledge that there are some merits in both perspectives, but I am inclined to agree that high school must encourage volunteering in community service alongside its curriculum. Community service is a great way to teach the young generation, societal values like kindness, helping those in need and being polite to one another. Therefore, schools should have a mandatory internship with NGOs or charities without any financial benefits for the students as a part of their curriculum. This will not only teach them how to become a good human but also help them stay one in the real world once they are out of high school. On the flip side, it is argued that the main objective of secondary education is to ensure that the students end up in universities. The university is often seen as a place which prepares students for the global world as it offers them better job placements along with higher salaries. As a result, schools primary aim should be on academic subjects and not community service as forces them to divide their valuable time. For instance, a student who spends half of their time volunteering for a charity, would have much less time to study and even rest well. Therefore, he/she will not be able to focus completely in school and will have a lower chance of getting into an Ivy League college. In conclusion, while being a member of society, one must learn to give back and community service offered by high schools is a great way to teach that but making it mandatory for everyone may not be in the best interest of every student. Different students have different goals, and they should decide how to spend their valuable time, it could be preparing for the desired college or taking part in community service. In my opinion, it should be dependant on each student if they want to volunteer or not, as time is very precious and they would much rather like spend on preparing for college or exams.