In many countries, a lot of food is wasted. Why do people waste food? How can we reduce the amount of food waste? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, wasting huge amounts of food is a significant issue in many countries. There are many reasons why people do not pay attention to the volume of groceries that they waste. I will suggest some solutions to manage this issue. At first, the lack of education and some wrong cultural habits cause people to buy and store food and foodstuffs much more than their daily consumption, and extra cuisine gets rotten and spoiled. For example, in my country, Iran, some people are used to buying a lot of bread, and unfortunately, a lot of that bread is wasted because it is bought more than the daily requirements. In addition, in some countries, a large part of food waste occurs during the production process until it reaches the final consumer. This amount of waste is mainly due to the low level of technology and knowledge in the field of groceries production and processing. To address this issue, one of the most important solutions is to introduce the community to the high value of groceries, by familiarising them with the methods of producing food products and the difficult stages of processing until it reaches the end consumer. Moreover, the government can take an important step in reducing food waste from the beginning of the production process by updating the processing technology in the food industry. For instance, the amount of food waste in traditional agriculture is several times higher than the volume of that in modern and industrial agriculture. To sum up, the reasons that lead people to waste food are varied. Wrong cultural habits and low levels of food processing techniques are the most important reasons. Solving this problem, on the one hand, requires educating everyone about the value of food and, on the other hand, using new food processing methods and technologies that can greatly reduce the level of food waste.