Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

It is true that nowadays, young people tend to avoid work involving the agricultural sector. While there are several reasons that may explain this trend, I firmly believe it is essential to inspire young people to engage in farming work. There are several reasons for this trend. Firstly, farming is physically demanding and requires strength and endurance. Additionally, the working environment is often dirty, and the pay is typically low. For instance, my uncle has worked in farming for forty years and has put in a lot of effort, but he is still in an underprivileged situation. Urbanization offers more tempting jobs for young people with higher social status and better pay, so they are among the first to migrate to the cities. Secondly, even in rural areas, young people now have access to better education and can easily find decent jobs with more hygienic working environments and competitive salaries after graduation. Even those who lack proper education would still prefer being blue-collar workers to farmers. It is necessary for more young people to engage in farming because of several reasons. Initially, young people can quickly learn up-to-date methods of raising cattle or planting crops. Consequently, they can pass on this knowledge to the older farmers and help to ease the burden of farming work. They are also more proficient at utilizing technological advances, which can increase productivity. Most importantly, farming often runs in families; thus, if all the youth move to urban areas, our country will seriously lack food due to the shortage of labour in this sector. In short, if the situation of farmers struggling to make ends meet is resolved, more young people will be willing to engage in the agricultural sector. Immediate solutions need to be proposed because young people are needed on farms to produce food sustainably.