WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, more and more people suggest university students take their lessons according to their preferences. Meanwhile, several individuals advise them to focus only on subjects that matter in life, such as courses about environmental sciences and IT infrastructure at once. Although it sounds more enjoyable to explore every course that they like, I believe that it is necessary for students to focus their learning based on their future career goals as discussed in this essay. One advantage of taking any subjects that students might like is the excitement that they will receive during their studies, such as an increase in networking with people with different perspectives. For instance, students who study sciences along with technological infrastructure will have greater opportunities to expand their networks to get along with many people from both majors, which will broaden their knowledge to the other field of specialities at a certain level. Consequently, students who studied more than one core subject might get the best of both worlds. On the other hand, it is agreed that focusing on a specific subject will enhance one’s specialization. Not only beneficial in their academic performances, but also essential in their future career. To illustrate, students who solely focus on studying environmental sciences will deepen their knowledge in detailed aspects related to the environment, such as greenhouse gas emissions, biodiversity conservation, renewable energy transition, and climate change implications towards societies. As a result, they will acquire specific skills that are necessary to fulfill what the industry needs. In conclusion, it may sound more interesting for some students to take any subjects they like, since it increases the possibilities of gaining networks from other fields. However, it is better for youngsters to focus on the subjects that really fit in their planned careers to meet several expectations from promising industry leaders.