In some cities public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether public parks or barren land should be utilized for gardening functions, so that local resident can farm fruit and crops on their own is a recurring arrangement. This writer argues that the encouragement of consuming healthy organic and the decrease in the overall cost of fertilizers outweigh the drawbacks of land pollution. The most advantageous factor of local gardening is that it can embrace the consumption of healthy organics. In other words, local residents can plant their own food in a totally clean environment with all the conditions provided by nature rather than the industries. From prior experience, fruits when planted in an ideal condition will have a higher quality of yields that are totally harmless for human consumption. Thus, letting the residents plant in the public gardens should be considered to improve the general health of the community. A decrease in the overall cost of fertilizers should also be taken into consideration. It must be recognized that most fruits and vegetables planted by residents can sustain their own nutrition intake, which will reduce the dependence on highly concentrated fertilizer content. As a result, gardeners would not have to invest in fertilizers as much compared to industrial-scale farming. Thereby, local residents can save their money on buying fertilizers. Despite these, many people argue that converting public lands into resident-use gardens would be hazardous for the ecosystem of the land. They believed that the residents may use dangerous chemicals to grow their plants which will pollute the area causing harm to the animals inhabiting the land. This belief does hold credibility, however, imposing rules and making composts from leftover organics can reduce the risk of local animals contracting sickness. Consequently, planting fruit and vegetables on public land will make up for the sustainability of the cities, not destroy it. Taking all points into account, the possible risk of environmental pollution is outweighed by the opportunity to improve the consumption of healthy food and reduce the cost of fertilizer. Hence, repurposing empty land and public parks for local gardening can be beneficial. In a specific area.