In some countries young people are encouraged to travel or work for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In recent decades, some nations encourage high school graduates to travel or work before they enrol in post-secondary schools. In my opinion, although it would be beneficial for them to obtain direct experiences through travel or work there are some drawbacks to these experiences. First of all, if high school graduates are allowed to travel around the world prior to university study, it cannot be denied that it enables them to have a wider vision as well as inspiration to the world. The experiences of going overseas, communicating with other races, and looking at historical monuments of other countries provide the students with higher levels of knowledge which is difficult to acquire within the fundamental subjects. However, as they spend another year travelling around after high school graduation, they could feel getting behind in terms of ordinary university curriculums. Secondly, some federations require high school graduates to engage in actual work experiences since it is significantly important for them to recognize whether the students are interested in the sector or not through direct participation. On the contrary, if it is different from what they thought about the industry, the longer time than they expected would be required to find another field suitable for them. Another disadvantage of this is as they participate in actual work with basic knowledge of the field from high school education, it is comparatively burdensome to adapt to work for graduates. In conclusion, Students who are having difficulty making a decision to travel or work during the term should consider carefully depending on these drawbacks and benefits.