In many countries today, crime novel and TV crime dramas are becoming more popular. Why do you think are these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Thrilling plots have always attracted readers and viewers alike. All across the, world there is a definitive surge in crime novels and movies or dramas based on criminal plots and subsequent inspiration. In my essay, I would discuss the reasons for the popularity of this genre of storytelling, with suitable examples and why there is a need to be cautious about them. To begin with, any crime plot has numerous turns and twists which keep the audience and readers on tenterhooks. Whereas comedy and traditional plots are immensely predictable, crime thrillers are difficult to predict and have surprising outcomes which attract the audience. For example, the crime thriller "Sabdhan India" based on real cases from police records has higher TRP than family dramas or comedy shows. Moreover, as this, the genre of plots takes inspiration from real-life incidents, and the solutions that come in the end provide extreme satisfaction to the reader or the viewer after a gripping tell-tale. To exemplify, people eagerly wait for the episodes of the "game of thorns" to reach the conclusion of the story. Thus, the thrilling plot, twists and turns, and unpredictability are the main ingredients which attract the audience. However, there are some implications of crime thrillers. Firstly, criminals draw inspiration from the methods displayed, to hatch crime scenes. To illustrate, in Delhi, the plot of a famous murder case was inspired by a felony serial as was confessed by the accused. Moreover, an overdose of such stories and plots leads to a subconscious deterioration of human emotions, which affects one's mental health and well-being in the long run. To cite an instance, psychologists believe, long-term exposure to negative situations both real and fictitious has the same effects on human behavioural patterns. Furthermore, most of these kinds of scripts display a lot of murder, bloodshed, rape, etc which are negative emotions and adversely affect societal well-being. To exemplify, the censor board in New Delhi, had to remove some scenes from a teleserial based on a rape case to minimise the impact on the viewers. Therefore, though gripping, it has some serious societal implications which cannot be overruled. To summarise, owing to the story, spine-chilling-narrative and sudden twists in the tale, crime stories are immensely popular, but such drama should be regulated for the greater good of society and to avoid the adverse reactions arising out of it.