Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

In recent years, a debate regarding animal experimentation emerged. In particular, some people argue that it is unethical and that for this, it should be banned by law, while others say that it has an important scientific impact and should be continued. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that animal experimentation has some great advantages and this justifies its use. In fact, many discoveries would have not been possible without it. For instance, many drugs were developed by administrating some chemical products in rats and pigs. In addition, many of these animals are treated in the highest regard during their life, thus their sacrifice is not vane. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to state that animal trials should continue. On the other hand, nowadays some alternatives are being developed and could be used. Firstly, the cosmetic industry, which does not have scientific purposes, could use some plastic models for testing their new products. Furthermore, many artificial body parts are now available for medical use and could be an alternative to animal experimentation. For example, near my town in Trento, there is a laboratory which now uses only these artificial organs in their research, with great results. Finally, virtual reality is getting very advanced and it could be used to simulate a human being and possible drugs, hence testing their effects. In conclusion, it can be stated that, whereas experimentation on animals is justified, many alternatives are emerging and could be taken into consideration. As stated above, with new technologies, not only the animals will not suffer but also the results could be satisfactory.