Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development? In the modern day, there are many children spend the majority of their time on smartphones. In my opinion, smartphones give children a sense of fulfilment both personally and socially. Despite the various benefit of smartphones, there are some drawbacks and I believe that this is a negative development. On the positive side, children prefer to spend their time on the screen because they can connect with many people or do a variety of interesting activities through websites. This can make them fade away from the real world for a while and give them a sense of fulfilment in any aspect, such as becoming a well-known person on the social media platform can help them get more confident and proud of themselves even though it may contrast with real life. Another benefit is that they can enjoy playing games to relax from the stress or even depression of their parents. As a result, smartphones can heal them from the negative environment and they tend to addict to phones more and more in the future. On the other hand, I believe that developing smartphones is a negative development because it can lead children to harmful situations. For example, children may face strangers who don’t reveal their real identities and characteristics. As a consequence, they would bring a cybercrime that is extremely dangerous nowadays. Moreover, children tend to have low performance in the academic study because they spend too much time on their smartphones and may don’t have good time management skills which will affect them in various aspects, such as getting into a good university to name but a few. Thus, these reasons cause many negative things and I believe that it is a negative development. In conclusion, although smartphones will give a lot of benefits, they still have negative impacts, namely cybercrime and affecting academic performance. This is because the smartphone is one of the negative development and to avoid bad situations from using too much, we should use these things wisely and manage the time required in order to keep ourselves on track.