Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sprots to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that participation in free-of-charge community service, and voluntary work at charities for instance, should be compulsory for high school students. However, I strongly disagree with this argument and the reasons will be discussed. It is my view that it is not children who should be engaged in unpaid community service, as it can act as a great source of distraction, leading to poor grades. Instead, new regulations should be enforced so as to boost standards of living and support in need people by encouraging adults to participate in these activities. I believe that putting strains on secondary school students cannot remedy the situation because they are less likely to benefit from sufficient knowledge and resources. In addition, most of them have a tight schedule and find it difficult to even effectively carry out their own responsibilities. By contrast, a group of individuals claims that if we want to develop a sense of responsibility for pupils studying at the secondary level, compelling them to engage in free service can be a wise idea, which can lead to a higher standard of living for those who live in deprived areas. They firmly insist that by contributing positively to society, pupils can also develop soft skills such as interpersonal skills. Thus, they not only help others but also help themselves. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as there are several more effective ways that we can foster pupils to develop soft skills. For example, encouraging them to participate in teamwork projects and learning foreign languages can be taken into consideration. To conclude, in my opinion, I completely disagree with making unpaid society service compulsory at high schools because students fail to provide ideal service.