More and more people are expected to be living in the urban centres in the future. What problems can be caused? Should government encourage people to settle outside the city?

Residents in the city centres have far more different ways of life compared to rural dwellers in terms of job opportunities and medical access. Countryside inhabitants believe that relocating to the downtown will help them to have better well-being. This essay will discuss the effects of this phenomenon and provide reasons why the government should play a significant role to solve this issue. Urbanisation creates a lower quality of life in two aspects. The first is the higher cost of living because the demand for basic infrastructure and accommodation will relatively increase in suburban districts. Metropolitans, for example, will need to pay more for housing especially if they would like to live in the city centres. In addition, a high concentration of people causes air pollution. The green town is unlikely to happen since inhabitants still need to consume energy, therefore, gas emissions are unavoidably released. In fact, relocation to the metropolis may not benefit rural residents as expected. Clearly, the government should seriously involve in solving this urban migration problem. In order to control the cost of living and reduce pollution, the authority should consider creating jobs in non-urban zones. For instance, many countries in Europe have expanded towns in the outskirt regions by attracting investors to establish their businesses. A workforce is followingly needed, then dwellers will accordingly get reasonable payments without moving to search for opportunities in town. Tax exemption is also one of the major factors, which persuade people to make a decision. The government may impose a tax exemption policy for the first ten years of the city building plan for both individual and company levels. Indeed, if the authority foresees this issue and comes up with an action plan beforehand, it is unlikely that the country will experience the above-mentioned problems. In conclusion, although urban migration is a preferred choice for countryside residents, there are many negative consequences including costs of living and pollution. Therefore, the official must detect this likelihood, and create a strategy to encourage its population to locate back to the rural areas.