In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything, they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that over the next years, the number of printed resources such as books and newspapers will dramatically decline, as people will prefer the cheaper alternative of online reading. I believe that whereas digital resources will certainly be more popular amongst individuals, that does not mean the disappearance of paper from our lives. On the one hand, there is no doubt that the growing popularity and increased advertising of switching to digital resources will lead to its dominance. This is because this approach is mainly supported by its wide range of benefits. For instance, online reading does not harm the environment as much as mass paper production does, as it does not require damaging natural habitats or deforestation of larger forests. Moreover, it has a lot of mobility-related advantages due to its lightweight and the ability to store a large amount of data all in the same place. This, along with the fact that nowadays you can find almost any book you want free online, whether it is copyrighted or not. Therefore, most people will choose to spend less and make use of the number of benefits that online reading provides them. On the other hand, it is rather unfair to make the assumption that printed newspapers and books will totally disappear from our lives. In other words, humans are creatures with multiple opinions so it is almost impossible to find something all of us agree on. Turning to our main objective, despite the dominant preference for reading online, there will likely be still individuals who prefer books for multiple reasons. For example, some books have a significant emotional link with their readers or maybe because the touch, smell and colours of books provide a more fulfilled, completed experience. Conversely, this is not found in E- books which display them in the same boring, rigid way. In conclusion, even though electronic material preference is supported by its large number of advantages and its free availability, this will not cancel out the presence of people who prefer traditional reading, thus the printed material will still be on stage.