In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

In the last 10 years, there has been an increasing number and types of online courses made available for adults. This has been accepted as a great opportunity for a lot of students. However, other learners see these classes as less resourceful that classroom lessons. This essay will buttress the benefits and drawbacks of learning online. Firstly, Online education can be of benefit to students in several ways. It makes it possible for scholars to learn from any part of the world, and also during hard weather conditions when students can't attend classes. That is to say, scholars from underdeveloped countries can seek higher knowledge as a result of the online courses available. Therefore, this will enable them to gain knowledge on topics that are important for their career pathway. Furthermore, online lectures make learning less difficult during winter because of the provision it offers to learn from home. As a result, a large number of students prefer this approach because it prevents them from having to go to the classroom during harsh weather conditions. It's been observed that most universities offer all their lessons online during the winter season.Take, for example, my cousin Chika, she likes to learn from her bed during winter because it is more comfortable. On the other hand, learning online prevents students from having practical knowledge and also it may affect their confidence level. That is to say, students may not develop experience when they learn online. This is because educational providers focus more on theoretical topics when they offer online courses and this will make it difficult for beginners to understand easily. Last but not least, when students spend most of their time learning online, it tends to reduce their confidence to communicate in public places. It's been observed that students with experience from online classes find difficulties in attending job interviews. Take, for example, my cousin Ike, she lost a job position because she was shy to answer questions during her job interview. To conclude, online classes are welcomed development adopted by many students. However, it is advisable for students to still prioritise classroom lessons because they play a vital role in the educational journey.