The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s contemporary era, technology has become advanced, and is easily accessible to people from all sectors of the society. It is a popular notion that technology helps to prevent, and sometimes even solve certain crimes. Hence, resulting in decreased crime rates. This essay aims to substantiate this assertion. Nowadays everybody has access to technology, therefore, it serves as a valuable platform to spread awareness. Moreover, it also allows victims who are scared to talk otherwise, to come up and voice themselves. For example, there was a MeToo movement on social media a few years back, it gave an opportunity to many survivors of sexual abuse to speak up and demand the justice they deserved. Furthermore, it also helped to create a sense of fear among the individuals who thought that they could suppress anybody and get their way out of it. Additionally, it also helps to create pressure on the police force and the government to work fairly. Because of social media and technology, every small update of recent events reaches the general public, which allows them to question any wrongdoings. For instance, recently a junior doctor was raped in West Bengal, India. When the public saw that she was not being given proper justice, the news spread throughout the world due to these technological advancements in no time, resulting in the entire nation standing up together to question the government. As a result, the case was transferred to the CBI. In conclusion, I believe that technology helps to prevent crime as it helps to spread awareness among the masses, and to send a message to the criminals that nothing will stay hidden. Consequently, people are more hesitant to commit crimes now. Moreover, it even helps to solve crimes by creating pressure on the authorities, which results in faster and more honest work.