In some countries, some criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that television shows, which show criminal trials in law courts to the public, are beneficial in several countries. However, I firmly believe that there are more disadvantages than advantages to broadcasting the trials. On the one hand, criminal trials on television can stop audiences from committing the same crimes as offenders on the programs. By showing the public the results of crime, people, especially children, are able to think twice before they offend. For example, if people watch those TV programs and realize how much they will be punished when they steal others’ properties, they are unlikely to commit theft in the future, because they do not want to take the risk they watched on TV. In another case, children, who watch the trials on TV, can learn what justice is in vicarious ways, which leads them to the right way in their lives. Nevertheless, broadcasting real criminal trials should be banned to protect the privacies of victims and offenders’ families. As media technologies have enhanced dramatically, people can find others’ private information easily. Therefore, there are possibilities that audiences disclose the personal details of people who are involved in the trials in law courts. For instance, it is a quite serious problem in Korea that victims of crime are suffering from personal detail exposure, although they are innocent. In conclusion, while there are some advantages to letting individuals know about criminal trials through television, it is evident that these TV programs are risky when it comes to people ’s private information who are related to the trials.