Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, people sometimes argue that it is time-consuming to read newspapers or watch news programs because news is not associated with their lives. Personally, I completely disagree with this view due to several long-term benefits news brings to us. There are a number of reasons why I approve of this. The most frequently cited one relates to the strong relationship between individuals and the community. Apparently, the news presented on such means of mass media has a great impact on our lives. These are the current affairs that residents need to notice and take concern, from several local information such as education and lack of clean water to a variety of global issues, which are climate change or ozone depletion. Each one plays a significant role and we cannot deny their benefits to bring us a wide range of knowledge about the wider world. Secondly, it seems evident that news is an enormous source of information with value for citizens to anticipate and well prepare for their future. There are those who always keep up with the latest news and are ingenious so that they can recognise the tendency of society to develop their own advantages. Furthermore, the news is a crucial need owing to its positive purposes. For example, good news may bring about a good sense of confidence and belief, while bad ones may warn us about the barriers we have to tackle. As a consequence, we can find the most effective method to encounter these obstacles. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that news has various merits in people’s lives, which are a useful source of information and the intimate knowledge we can learn from it.