Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is usually argued that only governments and big companies can create an impact on the environment and that an ordinary man can do nothing about it. While I do believe that government and large companies have the necessary resources and manpower to change the world, I, however, completely disagree with the fact that an individual can not make any difference in improving the environment. Firstly, I believe awareness is like a chain reaction that starts from one person and spreads through society. No matter what actions governments take, a change can only happen when we start caring about the environment on an individual level. For example, when the Prime minister of India initiated 'Clean India Campaign', it was only successful when people started to clean their surroundings individually. By the end of it, we had a cleaner and greener India. Hence, it is more important that a person works personally, while making others aware, to make the environment better. Secondly, I believe an individual can not only participate in making the environment better, but can also help to prevent it from getting worse. For example, big governments provide gas and petroleum for an ordinary man to use in their personal vehicles. But it is up to the individual, whether he or she exploits the non-renewable natural resource or use public transportation. Hence it is up to them, if they choose an affordable means and not leave their economic footprints. In conclusion, I would like to favour the fact that a person, in himself or herself can be of significance in making our earth healthier, cleaner and greener.