Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

In this modern era, many people believe that the extinction of some species of plants and animals is the main problem for the human environment, while others say that there are more important environmental matters. I agree with the latter opinion and this essay will discuss both views. To start with, there are two compelling reasons why people believe that the loss of flora and fauna is a paramount environmental problem. First reason is that since most people on earth are multicultural and they eat different types of food that come from animals and greeneries, preserving both flora and fauna is paramount for human survival. For instance, in eastern areas of Indonesia such as Papua, for many centuries most individuals have been conserving one specific plant which is famously known as sagoo as their main food resource to survive, because rice is expensive and cannot be planted in that area. The second reason is that the existence of particular species of animals is significant for country icons. Orangutans are known as one of the endangered animals in Indonesia, and their presence is one of the most iconic of Indonesia uniqueness to attract a lot of tourists. Therefore, if orangutans are extinct, Indonesia will lose one of their icons, and the number of tourists might decrease. In stark contrast, I believe that other environmental problems such as waste and air pollution are more vital. Firstly, the enormous amount of waste in all over countries can spread many diseases to our surrounding. Diseases such as skin infection, tetanus, and malaria are deadly diseases that are caused by the accumulation of waste that are not handled properly. If the government and people do not put their concern into solving waste problems, these diseases will be spreading and killing many people all over the world. Secondly, air pollution is a crucial problem because it can cause greenhouse gasses, which can negatively affect our environment. Pollutants cause an immense amount of carbon to be gathered in the earth's atmosphere, this chemical reaction blocks the heat radiation from our planets to come out from the atmosphere. Hence, this phenomenon can cause the earth to become hotter, and subsequently it can melt the ice in Antarctica, which can cause big floods in the world. In conclusion, although many individuals believe that protecting flora and fauna is important for human survival and country iconic symbols, I argue that waste and pollution environmental problems are more important since they can cause many diseases and greenhouse gasses. Given this situation, the government should put more focus on handling the waste treatment and making some regulations to reduce air pollution such as limiting the number of vehicles on the road.