It has been proposed that citizens should only consume food and drink products that have been produced in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been many promotions done to boost the exclusive consumptions of local products. I somehow disagree with this idea as it will affect the global economic growth, and this act is considered as the oppression of individuals’ freedom. If a nation decided to consume only locally made items, it would affect international trade among countries, and at the end, the global economic development. When the government limits its residents to eat only crops grown domestically or use products manufactured in-house, there will be no demand for exported products, and if there are surplus of certain types of crops, the country will need to strategize their distributions, but most of the time, they end up in the rubbish bins if the farmers could not export them to other countries. For instance, Thailand produces a mass number of mangoes annually, and they export the ready-to-eat ones overseas and generate huge incomes. However, if the importing countries choose to close this international trade agreement, it would have a major impact on the exporting countries, such as Thailand. Moreover, if the government chose to ban exported products and issued a guideline for its citizens to utilised only domestic commodities, it would also affect their freedom of consumption. This simply means that there are not many options available in the markets, and it would cause a problem because different people have different preferences. For example, rather than having home-made meals everyday, modern Cambodian people tend to go to a restaurant on the weekend to try out different kinds of cuisines, such as that of Japan, Korea, and France, which require the import of foreign ingredients to cook. In conclusion, I somewhat disagree with the notion that people should only utilise locally made products because it would have a major impact on the economic development globally in a long run and doing this would also affect people’s freedom of consumption.