In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

Some would argue that it is a drawback for state power that individuals in most nations live much longer than ever before. However, others think that there are privileges for having old people in the community. I strongly believe that the benefits of such contributions to society outweigh the fact that countries' workforce will be decreased. When the nations have some shortage of employees and workforce, it mostly damages the economy of these places and it will hit citizens too. Since they do not have any income to support the budget of the government, they will not receive any annuity. Following this, elderly people will not be able to afford daily products to live conveniently. As a result, the country is likely to have some chaos due to ensuring the residents with their needs. For example, in Japan, the state does not have enough labour. The reason for that was great living conditions for Japanese residents and Japan was full of aged people. Therefore, Japan had to borrow money from other nations to provide the annuity for pensioners. It means that too many old people in certain countries lead to problems with the economy. Despite this, elderly people play a significant role in the community development. Since, they have plenty of knowledge and experience in every field, that the young generation has not discovered yet. For example, my grandpa who was in the Second World War always gave me advice in certain situations. Moreover, he had to give interviews all the time for historians, so he was the influential person for the whole country. Thankfully for him historians discovered a lot of exhibits from this war, so the history was rewritten. In conclusion, the increased amount of aged people does not bring many drawbacks, on the contrary, their knowledge is a valuable thing for humanity's development, so it will not be a hard challenge for the government to ensure them.