Some people believe that the government should set up free libraries in every city. Others, however, think that this is a waste of money as people can use the Internet at home to get information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that the internet has paved the ways for individuals to access knowledge as fewer people have used public libraries these days. Although some people propound that government should not fund or set up free libraries in every town due to the arrival of the internet, I disagree that such places are valuable in terms of certain functions. This essay will discuss both views and I will give my opinion. On the one hand, needless to say that the internet has drastically affected humans in many ways, especially to gain knowledge from educational resources or websites. This is the reason that citizens might no longer require to read physical books or certain materials, which results in a significantly lower number of library users over the past decades. Thailand, for example, it has been considered that Thais read fewer than 1 book a year, based on the statistics, whereas, they have heavily depended on reading content online instead. Therefore, certain residents may find it not worth squandering money on such a facility. On the other hand, free-access libraries should be taken into consideration by governments that they provide public authentic learning resources and activities among local dwellers. For instance, most developed nations have emphasized academic resources such as free libraries in order to help enhance the development of human resources. For this reason, ones can benefit from a wider range of recent genuine materials, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedia books, puzzles, certain activities and many more, which will improve a better standard of livings in the long run, and they can enjoy using the internet from these places as well. Consequently, I strongly believe that they should be available in various communities. In conclusion, even though many think that money should not be allocated to public libraries any more as people use the internet to obtain knowledge instead, I do not agree with this notion since ordinary residents can simply make use of library special features.