With growing population in cities, more and more people live in a home with small or no outdoor areas. Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, people are pouring into high-density cities, thus leading to the diminishment of living quarters and outdoor spaces. From my perspective, this is undoubtedly a negative development for several reasons. To begin with, sharing a small apartment with other family members means that privacy can easily be violated. This is due to the fact that while living under a small roof, people need to share their personal space with other members or use the same room for several purposes, for example, the bedroom can also be utilized as a dressing room and storage. This can lead to several awkward situations that can be avoided with ease had the accommodation been bigger. Moreover, the lack of outdoor spaces can lead to depression and laziness. Kids who are being constrained in a limited area will not have much chance to interact with their peers, thus can lead to depression, and longtime exposure to this environment can result in laziness, since children, as well as,adults are used to the inactive lifestyle. Last but not least, as citizens flock to big cities, the price to acquire real estate will soar, since the supply is not sufficient enough to meet the demand of society, and become a financial obstacle for young adults. For instance, the housing price in Hanoi in the same location would become two, even three times compared to the last years, and the closer to the city centre, the higher the cost. That being said, renting or purchasing a smaller apartment seems to be more economical, as homeowners can reserve money for other purposes. However, the larger counterpart is proved to be better in some aspects. As mentioned above, a small living quarter means that kids do not have enough space to develop both mentally and physically, meanwhile a larger house could be the solution to solve these issues. Taking a garden as an example, it can provide a playground for kids, thus enhancing their immune systems and helping grown-ups to release stress and mend their souls. In conclusion, a modest accommodation can be beneficial in terms of finance, nevertheless, it has detrimental effects on other aspects of life, such as a healthy lifestyle and privacy. Therefore, choosing a big city to settle in is not always the best idea, and humans should base it on their personal situations to make the right decision.