Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled and that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The view held by some is that the authorities should impose new laws to legally demand households to send more items into recycling bins. This essay will argue that this may not be the best solution to the garbage problem. Firstly, it is very unclear how tracking who properly gets rid of unnecessary household things should be done. Conducting research to figure out the best approach would require investing an enormous amount of funds. In fact, there have been cases in the past when costly studies did not discover efficient technologies to find solutions to environmental issues. Thus, one disadvantage is the potential risk of losing millions dollars that came from the population's taxes. Secondly, a possible way to watch who does proper waste utilization would imply installing cameras and other artificial intelligence sensors on top of or around the recycle bins. Such detailed tracking will be way too intimidating for some citizens and that might lead to an overall decrease in society's mental health. For example, someone would be constantly feeling irritated from being watched over through the devices and, as a consequence, she or he might develop depression. To summarize, in my opinion the increased mind control causing paranoia combined with the number of resources needed in order to invent a system that collects personal recycling data does not make it viable to implement legal rules regarding items' clearance.