Should governments make decisions about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

There is an ongoing debate about whether governments should decide about people ’s lifestyles and habits. Supporters of this stance argue that this would effectively take the burden off certain public sector services, like NHS, improving the well-being of the whole society. However, in my,view this would only damage citizens’ right to privacy and breach the rule of law. To begin, the government should respect people ’s right to private life. Everybody lives accordingly to their views and likes, with which others may disagree. However, this variety makes our culture stand out and a platform for different worldviews. Therefore, as far as people respect each other’s opinions, the state should not take them under concern. Yet, if someone for example starts to harm others, public institutions ought to act and combat aggressive behaviours. Take, for example, Adolf Hitler’s stance on Jews. If the Weimar Republic took action earlier, perhaps the holocaust would never have happened. It should be also underlined that the state does not have the competency to take interest in our lifestyle. The current political system prohibits the legislature to pass a law that would try to shape people ’s behaviour or custom. Nowadays, lawmakers are only entitled to devise a law that bans certain activities in society. Therefore, everything that is not enshrined in the statutes is legal. To illustrate this, the government cannot produce a law that would force people to play basketball but instead bans certain activities that may harm players on the field. If the government were to order people to take on certain habits, it would be a breach of law. Some could raise the argument that the state should have competencies to shape people ’s lifestyles, as there are public services, which could benefit from it. This point is however only half true. Public administration should encourage people to change their habits to make the public services sector more efficient, yet not force them to do so. To conclude, governments should not have a right to tell people what to do, as this would be a clear violation of the rule of law and people ’s right to privacy. Although some may argue that it would have beneficial effects on public sector services, it should not underestimate the freedom of society as a whole.