Most people nowadays like to have cosmetic surgery to improve their appearance. Why are people choosing this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that currently, the majority of citizens’ appearance is interfered with by aesthetic surgery. From my perspective, the reasons for this matter vary, but this practice is detrimental to a certain extent. The following paragraphs would shed light on my viewpoint. To begin with, there are several reasons leading to this phenomenon. First, individuals will be more confident in themselves after their body defects are corrected to the most impeccable level. Particularly, a legion of singers or beauty queens has a myriad of plastic surgery to get the desired appearance. To exemplify, In Viet Nam, Duc Phuc, who is extremely renowned for his ballads, also had to undergo many surgeries to have the appearance he is now. Second, it is nearly possible that luxury cosmetic services are progressively close to individuals' reach. Specifically, this is an exorbitant service, but with people's living standards now, this is as normal as buying vegetables at the market. In the long run, only by increasing the demand for beauty, it can create many jobs for job-seekers as well as help the country advance the economy. Overall, despite its merits, I still believe this tendency is detrimental to society. The most pertinent reason is that aesthetic surgery has certain risks which can be fatal for the patient if it fails. Interestingly, there have been a lot of faulty surgeries that appear even patients die during surgery because of too much blood loss. In reality, In Viet Nam, in 2013 there was a beauty salon called "Cat Tuong” that killed patients and then dumped the body to avoid criminal responsibility. In addition, It is likely that residents will face financial problems because this is a long-term process to be able to get a satisfactory appearance. To be specific, one surgery costs about 70 million VND, even billions of VND to get a good look. In fact, to have rhinoplasty or breast augmentation surgery also costs about 30 million to 100 million depending on the place and the technology to do In conclusion, it is disputable that plastic surgery not only gives residents confidence but also creates jobs for themselves because the beauty trend is growing strongly. Nonetheless, they have to trade with the risks of surgical failure and financial burdens.