Some people believe that a good way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that some individuals are in favour of spending a considerable period of time in jails and prisons to declining the number of crimes. However, I completely believe that other ways of punishment should not be ignored and underestimated. On the one hand, in order to make human beings unwilling and optimistically cautious about the catastrophic results of their actions and behaviours, long-lasting and increasing the length of sentences play vital roles. In addition, this could make them think more carefully about wasting their precious time and resources, which should have been spent in happy moments with family and friends. Moreover, this phenomenon not only has a great impact on people's decisions in terms of decreasing criminals'desires for behaving illegally but may also put a stop to repeating those not noticeably important crimes. For example, if humans become aware that because of shoplifting or,vandalism they should live over 30 years while prisoning, they would neither intend to commit a criminal activity nor cooperate even having great proportions. On the other hand, as a consequence from my perspective, a variety of punishments for diminishing crimes could be implemented for offenders. Firstly, the respected authorities could force them to have voluntarily social services in public for the last remaining of their lives. For instance, in Japan, if an ordinary citizen is condemned of burglary, as a penalty they have to work unpaid for almost 60 years. Secondly, jurisdictions can penalize the crime committed by simply costing hugely which greatly could reduce the numbers of them. Finally, I do believe that one of the best alternatives, is improving the countries' infrastructures in terms of having a strong economic status, which people never give a chance to treat against the law. In conclusion, in spite of obtaining the policy of rising the period of legal jurisdictions' sentences, I think other penalties could work better.