Many manufactured foods and drinks products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, sugar is usually present in foods and drinks in our diet. As a result, there are more potential dangers for the individual healthy than in the past due to the overconsumption of sugar. Therefore some people suggest that the price of produced food rich in carbohydrates should be increased in order to reduce their consumption. In my view, I firmly believe that this is not the better possible solution and it could not resolve the problem. To begin, it is clear that this choice could reduce the assumption of sugar for a person. However, following this way, the poorer part population would have serious difficulties buying important food such as pasta and bread. For instance, in Italy pasta represent a democratic food, if their price will rise it would be an economic catastrophe. In addition, many scientific findings have proved that some healthy food like rice or in general cereal is not correlated to a risk for health and takes a key role in the function of our body. On the other hand, the development of food education in people would be a more feasible approach to fighting the consumption of carbohydrates. In fact, a deeper knowledge of what we eat allows people to choose the better food adapted to each occasion. Moreover, they would be able to balance their diet by avoiding too high an assumption of sugar. In conclusion, although the rise in prices would be a solution over a short time, I think that food education could have a more positive impact in the long term in our society.