In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishments. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, more and more offences are committed by adolescents. There is a common belief that they should be penalized as adults if they committed serious crimes. I completely disagree with the idea because there are other ways how to penalize and re-educate them. To begin with, it is better to send minors to special re-educational establishments instead of imprisoning them. This is due to the fact that young people could be easily re-educated by using correct and accurate approaches to convert them into decent citizens. For example, when Chine’s authorities decided to tackle the problem of juvenile crimes, there were commissioned new rehabilitation establishments with well-educated psychologists to re-educate young offenders. As a result, the crime rate among adolescents has been decreasing since such special schools were introduced. Thus, this makes it clear that not only an adult penalty can decrease the desire to break the laws among teenagers but also proper upbringing can play an important part in the prevention of wrongdoings. Secondly, if such criminals are imprisoned in ordinary jails with vicious prisoners, they will only see more violence and cruelty, all of which will not allow them to rehabilitate and understand their guilty. For instance, according to statistics, a large number of individuals after imprisonment commit offences another time. Hence, it means that a modern system of re-education in prisons doesn’t work at all, so juveniles should not participate in the system which cannot support them to become upstanding citizens. To conclude, I strongly believe that teenagers should not receive strong punishment if they committed serious crimes because it doesn’t help them to rehabilitate. It is more significantly sent guilty adolescents to special schools where professionals will support them to re-educate.