Some people think local governments should spend money on art projects of major cities. Because these works of art (statues or painting) could make the landscape more attractive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many local governments have chosen to allocate funds to paintings and statues in metropolitan areas, which I believe is a positive decision. There are several reasons why the government should follow the trend. Firstly, investing money in art projects can boost the tourism of one city which can be beneficial for local businesses. It is considered that public art is a great way to attract tourists to a city. Visitors are highly likely to choose a city which has various and unique public artwork. For example, Melbourn is known for its modern city arts, which attract millions of visitors to stop by. When tourists visit the city, they often spend more time on accommodations, local shops and restaurants. Therefore, the art projects help local businesses to make more income. Secondly, allocating funds to art projects can lead to a city's innovation and image improvement. When the government spends some money on art, they also motivate the artists' creativity and self-expression. So they will be financially available to create more artwork for the public and will have a platform to present their creations. This will inspire more individuals who are interested in art to devote themselves to this industry, which will help the city to build a vivid and positive image. Although, on the other hand, spending more money on art projects could possibly deepen individuals' tax burden. As the government needs more money to support the investment, the residents might be asked to pay for the extra expenditure, and this could bring some complaints. To conclude, investing in public art projects can bring a multitude of benefits to a city and its residents, but could also bring some negative results for the taxpayers.