It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or aisagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

making children recognize the difference between right and wrong at a young age is important. In order to help them learn this distinction, punishment is necessary. However, In my opinion, while I believe that children knowing how to differentiate right and wrong are significant, I disagree that helping children learn it by punishing them is necessary. I accept that it is important to make children realise the difference between right and wrong at an early age, it helps to ensure that our society is safe. For example, more and more youth crimes appear in our life. A large part of them lacks care and education from family, school and so forth. They don't know whether what they are doing is right or wrong, and what the price they pay for doing it is. If there have someone to help them learn what is right and wrong when they are children, they may not commit. On the other hand, it is also extremely crucial to help children learn this distinction in a better way. Not only punishment is not an effective approach to teaching children, but also it has a negative influence on children. Teaching by punishing may make children think punishment can deal with many things so that they use the same form to do other things when they grow up. This will slowly become the punishment being the only use to educate, rather than reasoning and so on, which will cause damage to society. To conclude, it is essential for teaching children to recognize the difference between right and wrong. In the short term punishment is a quick teaching activity for children to learn this distinction. In the long term punishment will bring great damage to society.