In the modern society, many people find themselves being awkward in social situations like face-to-face gatherings. What are the possible causes of this situation and how can we deal with it?

It is argued that participating in social situations like meetings in person is often considered to be annoying these days. In my opinion, this happens because although lifestyles have changed in several ways, traditional communication styles have remained unchanged. I assume this situation can be improved by incorporating new styles using technology. The reason why the majority think face-to-face gatherings are awkward is a gap in lifestyle between the past and now. A few decades ago, since there were no advanced communication tools, such as mobile phones and online conference systems, gathering at one place was the most efficient style of sharing important information. For instance, many local communities set regular meetings where the representatives of each district gather and share what happens in order to make a better environment. This style was also considered effective to achieve smooth communication between inhabitants by enabling them to know the real face of neighbours, which reduces hesitation to talk. However, people can gain these benefits without real-world communication thanks to advanced technologies nowadays, which are more effective than the old styles. Hence, many people consider it annoying to continue this old-fashioned communication. One of the solutions to this situation is breaking the mould of outdated measures by incorporating current tools, such as email and online meeting systems. This new style will reduce the burden for many people by increasing flexibility. Using email, for example, enables residents to get essential information regardless of time and place, and people can know each other well at online meetings because they can see others' appearances and enjoy conversation wherever they are. This removes awkwardness from social situations. To sum up, remaining traditional communicating styles in many social situations are the main cause of people's annoyance. Therefore, I conclude that updating socializing styles with up-to-date tools can be efficient.