Many people think that students who go to university directly from school benefit less and can contribute less to their courses than those who travel or do jobs before they start their university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Getting a university qualification is important nowadays. Many individuals believe that doing tertiary education straight after finishing high school is a disadvantage. As this makes them contribute less to the course compared to those who take a gap year to gain job experience or travelling. The essay below totally disagrees with this assertion because some learners do jobs unrelated to what they want to study and also, studying immediately after completing high school means finishing at an early age. After passing secondary education, some people, especially those with poor backgrounds decide to look for a job so to raise money to further their studies. In doing so, most of them do not choose fields since their main aim would be raising money. For instance, someone with an interest in teaching can be employed in farming, and because they need cash, they can not turn down such an opportunity. Therefore, getting employed before university is not always about getting experience in certain courses and it does not mean such students fail. Furthermore, doing tertiary education immediately after finishing secondary school is ideal as this would mean finishing university when the mind is still fresh. Also, such people get the opportunity to work at an early age and for a long time before retirement, save money and travel a lot. For example, individuals who finish schooling when they are still young contribute a lot to society, in terms of development and the economy. Thus, attaining a degree first before doing other things is better than travelling or getting a job as it opens more and better life opportunities. In conclusion, the essay above argued that studying at a university without experience related to the degree does not mean the person can contribute less than those who get jobs or travel before continuing with their studies. This is because, some get jobs in unrelated fields, and learning early will mean better opportunities.