In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development.

It is true that these days, people spend a large amount of time working. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and it could bring about several consequences in both positive and negative ways. To begin with, there are two primary reasons why this phenomenon happens. The first frequently cited one is associated with the responsibilities of people for their families. This is due to the desire to maintain a good living standard, they have to work hard to pay for the needy demands, especially when developed society gives rise to all goods’ prices. Secondly, job prospects are another noticeable reason. As people allocate most of their time and efforts at work, they may be given several rewards such as a higher position with a greater salary. They not only contribute to the companies but also bring a variety of benefits to themselves. Owning long hours at the workplace, several related consequences could be anticipated. In terms of the positive one, people can make a considerable contribution to society. Making a profit for their companies also brings a variety of merits for the whole economy. However, there are various problems that arise with this trend. As people spend many hours on their jobs, they are always in charge of a large amount of work. Consequently, this could lead to the problem of lacking time to relax and their health could be put at risk. For instance, according to research conducted by Tuoitrenews.org, more than 80% of employees said that they felt tired and depressed after working long hours. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for workers to spend a significant amount of time working, which would lead to several consequences.