Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, more and more individuals tend to opt to be self-employed, rather than being employed by corporations. There are a few reasons why this is a trend among job hunters, despite there are demerits. Firstly, in recent years, many job markets have reached saturation, therefore employees will be looking for the best candidate for their positions, which would lead to a highly competitive situation for all job seekers. For many less competitive employers, it is almost impossible to find a job, and this is one of the reasons why they would alter to self-employed. In addition, individuals who have their own businesses are more likely to get flexible working hours than company employers. For example, many small businesses can choose when to have their holidays themselves according to their personal availability, while in big corporations employers have to consider whether the company will approve their absence applications. Conversely, starting your own business can be challenging. First and foremost, in many industries, small businesses are less reliable than big organisations. This means that they will be less competitive in the market and have fewer customers. Moreover, being self-employed is riskier. If the business faces bankruptcy, the owner has to face, possibly, a considerable amount of debt. For instance, many small businesses were bankrupt due to the Covid pandemic. During the time, entrepreneurs had to face the crisis of having no customers and no income, while some big companies and organisations were more financially stable so they lost money but not everything. To conclude, the saturated market and the seek for more freedom can be the cause for being self-employed, however, it is also more difficult and risky than working for a company.