Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that many children enjoy using smartphones. However, by overusing mobile devices, children ’s communication skill development and precious family time will be reduced. High technology devices such as smartphones play an important role not only in an adult’s life, but also in the new generation adolescent’s life. Some might support that smartphones provide opportunities and useful knowledge to these children. In contrast, the number of newly released IOS or android games increased sharply through these years. This number indicates that more and more children used their phones for entertainment purposes. For example, surprisingly, my nephew’s screen time shows 3 times higher than that of mine, mostly on an online streaming platform. While many people show no concern toward this situation, I held the opposite idea. There are several negative consequences resulting from overusing a mobile device in children. Because watching live streamings and playing games are one-way communication, youngers will not be able to develop their social skills properly. For example, a game-addicted adolescent could not fluently express his or her ideas in class. Moreover, time spent on these devices will run over precious time with their parents. Through interacting with real people, children can learn new skills such as speaking and listening. For instance, when I was young, my mom used to read me bedtime stories. Currently, influenced by those story books, I love to read a variety of books, fiction or non-fiction. In conclusion, even though high-technology communication tools are convenient and useful, because young kids are blindly overusing these innovations, hence, it could have a negative impact instead of a positive one.